First Blog!

For those of you who don’t know, I am Kirsty MacRae, a 17 year old Scot who is heading off to the Dominican Republic for a year! After a rigorous selection process I was chosen by Project Trust, an educational charity based on the beautiful Isle of Coll, to volunteer as a teacher for 12 months overseas.

In preparation for my year I had to raise over £5,900 which I managed due to the overwhelming kindness and generosity of friends, family, and strangers, so thank you to anyone who helped in any way! I also recently attended a training course on Coll where some fab friendships were formed. Teacher training, lesson planning, health talks, finding out about our countries and projects, beach trips, meeting partners, and of course, a ceilidh were all packed into an intense 4 days, and we left super excited with the whole thing seeming much more real. Upon returning from the Hebrides time has started to fly, and my head is full of visa applications, antimalarials, and teaching techniques – so much so I feel sorry for everyone around me as I’m pretty sure I talk about it constantly!

As to what I’m actually doing next year… I am departing on Saturday the 8th of August, and I’m going to be living in the town of Bombita in the South West of the Dominican Republic. The town is very poor, but the inhabitants, who are of Haitian descent, are known for being friendly and welcoming. I am going to be working with pupils from preschool age up to 18 years old, mostly teaching English and Art, but helping out wherever else needed.

I am so excited to get out there and start speaking Spanish and immerse myself in the culture, and just cannot wait to start teaching!

Some photos from training…

Team DomRep plus Felicity (our desk officer)
Team DomRep plus Felicity (our desk officer)
Dom Rep volunteers again!
Dom Rep volunteers again!
The whole training course at the final dinner
The whole training course at the final dinner
Me trying to dramatically yoga on the beach
Me trying to dramatically yoga on the beach
Down at the beach on Coll
Down at the beach on Coll
Me and my lovely partner Rebecca
Me and my lovely partner Rebecca

¡Hasta luego!

Leave a Reply

